Clothed in harmony.

The Cars were certainly a fashionable band, thanks mostly to David Robinson, who called the shots when it came to style and color choices for the members. It would seem that they had no quarrels over their preferences; in fact, I have found that they often appear to go out of their way to match each other since they will ‘twin up’ in a performance or photo shoot. Usually my handsome Benjamin is one in the pair, so I can only conclude that he had the best taste and every one wanted to copy him. LOL

Here are some of the matchy-matchy combinations I have found:

I love this shirt! In fact,  I had one of each color custom-made for myself. Benjamin and Greg sport theirs together in the video for “Just What I Needed” from the Old Grey Whistle Test.

Benjamin and Elliot here with matching jackets (from Elliot Easton’s twitter page) and matching boots at a record signing. Somewhere I think there is a photo of EE and Ben wearing matching red boots but I can’t find it at the moment.

Benjamin and Ric with their guitar straps. Funny how much more of it shows on Ric’s loooong torso. LOL

More guitar straps, this time with Elliot during the 1979 Midnight Special performance of “Let’s Go” (which, by the way, is delicious).

Benjamin and Greg with the shirts again. They’ve got the black-on-white, which they seem to share, and the white-on-black. Of course, there is some difference in the fit. Hahaha! And for the record, please notice the absolute awesomeness of Benjamin’s boots in the group photo. SO cool.

I  know I’ve seen a photo with Ric and Greg wearing matching shoes but I can’t seem to find it. I’ve yet to catch David matching anyone, unless you count the ‘skunk stripe’ he and Benjamin both flaunted for a while there… [shudder]. I’m not giving Benjamin credit for starting that one! LOL

I’ll update as I find more because I’m just.that.obsessed.

UPDATE: Here’s the photo I was thinking of with the red boots. Closer inspection makes me think they are not *exactly* alike, but pretty darn close:

BenEEbootsred

UPDATE: Found Benjamin and Greg sharing a tie on The Cars’ brief tour of Europe in 1978:

One thought on “Clothed in harmony.

Leave a Reply

